Sign in to follow this  
jdmsilvia13

S13 Circuit Alignment/Tyre question

Hey guys, so my current situation is that I just wore out my rear 595rs-r's to wear indicators running a 255/225 in only 2000 street kms and one QR time attack, with 7x 7 lap sessions. For street semi's and from what other people say, I was expecting a lot more life. The wear is pretty even too across the tyre, but the passenger side is worn more than drivers side. The car does have a fair visible amount of rear toe in which I'm guessing is the culprit? I know people usually talk about toe wear as edge wear but is it possible that it can also greatly increase overall wear from constant scrubbing over itself?

With my new setup I'm moving to AD08R's so trying to sort this before I'm wrecking them in months.The size I was thinking of was a 255 all round, however given no stagger I would want to keep some rear toe in so I don't spin as I'm still a novice driver, but of course if this is killing my tyres then another option is to use a Hankook RS3 285 rear and 255 front AD08R to retain stagger however at greater cost and I've heard they dont last as long on track which is my main problem at the moment.

So TL;DR, I've searched for days and suprisingly havent found anything addressing this, does toe in cause dramatic overall wear increases? If toe is visible does that mean it's probably way too much?

Thanks guys any input is appreciated!

When was the last time you had alignment? That will defiantly tell you whats going in with your rear toe in

Also doing time attack @ QR will cause the passenger side to wear out quicker than the drivers side. After all most of the turns you make are right hand turns which puts more load on the passenger side.

Couple of pics of my car from the last time attack I did @ QR, you can see what am talking about with the weight transfer/load going onto the left side of the car

11885046_10153450072786294_7189250293690766298_o.jpg